Arizona Car Insurance Laws

By Rissa Watkins

  • Overview

    Arizona Car Insurance Laws
    Arizona car insurance laws require all vehicles to be covered by a minimum of $15,000 per person for bodily injury coverage and $30,000 per accident. Arizona also requires $10,000 per accident for property damage coverage. Before you can register your vehicle in Arizona, you must show proof of financial responsibility by having this coverage, or by having a bond, CD or cash in the amount of $40,000.
  • The Facts

    Bodily injury and property damage coverage protects others. This coverage does not extend to you if you are hurt or your vehicle is damaged. Bodily injury pays for any injuries you are liable for because of an accident. The limits are $15,000 for one person's injury and $30,000 per accident. Property damage pays up to $10,000 for any damage to property that you are liable for, such as a car, a building or a street sign.
  • Options

    Arizona car insurance laws only require you to protect others. Optional coverage is available to protect yourself, your passengers and your property. If you are financing or leasing your car, your finance company will require you to purchase comprehensive or collision coverage to protect the vehicle.


  • Benefits

    Insurance pays for what might happen. Some think it is a waste of money, but one accident can cost you more than the total amount of premiums you have been paying your whole life. Without car insurance, you could lose everything you own and any future earnings with one bad accident.
  • Warning

    Arizona car insurance minimums may not be enough coverage to protect you if you are found at fault in an accident. If you hurt someone, the most your policy will pay out is $15,000 for one person's medical costs. Add the costs of an ambulance ride, ER visit and hospitalization, and your total may be well more than $15,000. The $30,000 per accident coverage means that no matter how many people get hurt, no matter how bad, your insurance company will not pay out more than $30,000. If you damage someone else's property, no matter if it is a Lexus or a Pinto, the most your insurance will pay is $10,000. You have to pay out of your pocket for any amount over your coverage.
  • Prevention/Solution

    It is recommended to carry enough insurance to protect what you have right now, and will have in the future. Raising your liability limits to $100,000 or even $250,000 might add less than $10 more to your premium. Talk to your insurance agent to see what the price difference will be for your rate. You might be surprised. More coverage can give you peace of mind while you or anyone else drives your vehicle.
    If this happened to you, would you have coverage?

© High Speed Ventures 2010