Feng Shui Color Choice Tutorial

According to the principles of Feng Shui, colors can not only affect your environment, but also manipulate your destiny.

Feng Shui is an ancient Chinese method of seeking harmony and balance. Literally translated it means "wind and water", two prominent players in this system that dates back thousands of years. The basic premise of feng shui is that the flow of vital energy, "qi" (chee), controls prosperity, health, and general destiny. This energy exists in two forms. The "yin" represents the cool, the feminine, the dark, the moon and the passive. The "yang" represents the masculine, heat, the sun, and dominance.

Another important factor in feng shui is the collective known as the five elements: wood, water, earth, fire, and metal. These elements each hold an individual significance and correspond to particular colors. Wood represents the beginning of life and is represented by the color green. Water is the giver of life and power and represented by the colors blue and black. Earth is the foundation of being and is essential for good luck. It corresponds with brown and what we term (interestingly enough) as "earth tones". Fire is the utmost "yang" element. It represents heat and can be symbolized by a bold, hot red. Lastly there is metal, the symbol of joy. For this think white and silver, gold can also be used.

Before you decide what colors to use where, it is important to map the "bagua" of the room or structure. This feng shui map consists of nine different zones that correspond to nine major factions of life: wealth and prosperity (purple), fame and reputation (red), love and marriage (pink), health (yellow), family (green), creativity and children (white), career (black), knowledge and self-cultivation (blue), and helpful people and travel (gray).

To create your own bagua map, draw a large square and divide it up into nine equal squares-three rows of three. Color the bottom left square blue, the bottom middle square black, and the bottom right square gray. Color the left middle square green, the center square yellow, and the middle right square white. On the top row color the left square purple, the middle square red, and the right square pink. Stand at the front entrance facing in. This corresponds to the bottom row of your bagua map. If your home or office is a rectangle, then all areas will be inside. If not, some areas will be outside.

Now that you have your location mapped out, we can begin to discuss how colors can be the most beneficial for you:

Purple - Not only is it associated with the "Wealth and Prosperity" Gua, but also includes

gratitude for all that you have. This appreciation will lead to physical, emotional,

and spiritual prosperity.

Red (yang) - Symbolizes integrity, virtue and authenticity. It is the color life, luck and

prosperity and is good for the "Fame and Reputation" area of your home. It wards

off evil, illuminates your path, and attracts positive opportunities into your life.

Pink (yin)- Corresponds not only to the "Love and Marriage" Gua, but also represents

love of oneself. By allowing your intuition to direct you, you will be able to take

pleasure in the goodness in each day.

Green (yin) - "Family" is at the center of this Gua, which also serves to strengthen the

soul. Green is peaceful and calming and represents nurturing and balance as one

grows and expands.

Yellow (yang) - This color is warmth and cheerfulness, though only in moderation, as

too much can yellow can cause anxiety. Not only does it reinforce "Health" and

communication, but also nurtures the ability to remain centered throughout life's


White (yang) - The focus here is on purity, joy and openness, like that of a child.

Encourage "Creativity" in all of its benevolent forms and recognize small

miracles. White is also the color of goodness and trustworthiness.

Blue (yin) - Calmness and tranquility are the keys to the "Knowledge" Gua. While

traditional blues represent trust and inner peace, navy blue represents wisdom.

Black (yin) - The "Career" Gua, symbolizing money and income, especially when

coupled with metal. This is also the color of depth and emotional fortification.

Gray (yin) - Use gray in this Gua to work on the qualities of self-empowerment and

confidence. This color helps to create synchronicity in your life.

Once you have mapped out the bagua of the overall structure, then proceed to map out the bagua of each individual room in the same manner. They probably wont coincide. As you work with the bagua map and the various colors as they correspond, remember that with Feng Shui colors should always be used to create balance.

Beyond the bagua there are also some colors to consider for their various affectations:

Orange (yang) - The color of organization and concentration.

Tan (yang) - Portrays orderliness and conceals emotions.

Brown (yang) - Represents being industrious.

Lavender (yang) - Suggests the capacity to be manipulated

As you use colors in your overall external environment, realize that according to Feng Shui principles, they also will affect your inner self. Let your surroundings be an accurate manifestation of who you are now, and all that you endeavor to be. Strive for harmony, rather than excess. This balance will nurture a deep satisfaction and enduring results as you develop the sphere of influence surrounding your mind, body and spirit.

© High Speed Ventures 2011