What Is the Minimum Amount of Auto Insurance You Need in Oregon?

By Contributing Writer

  • Overview

    What Is the Minimum Amount of Auto Insurance You Need in Oregon?
    Auto insurance is a legal requirement for all drivers across the country. However, the specific coverage and minimum limits that a driver is required to carry varies from one state to the next. Read on to learn the minimum amount of auto insurance you need in Oregon.
  • Tort

    Oregon's insurance laws are based on the tort system, which requires that in the event of an accident, the insurance policy of the driver at fault be cover the cost of any injuries caused to the driver and passengers or the other car and any damage caused to another person's vehicle or other property.
  • Bodily Injury

    Bodily Injury (BI) is coverage that you are required to carry in Oregon to pay for any injury to a third party if you are at fault in an accident. The minimum amount of bodily injury coverage that you must have in Oregon is $25,000 for each person who is injured, and a total limit of $50,000 for each accident.


  • Property Damage

    Property Damage is coverage that you are required to carry in Oregon to cover any damage to another person's vehicle or property if you are at fault in an accident. The minimum limit that you are required to have is a $10,000 for each accident.
  • P.I.P.

    Oregon requires every driver to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, with a minimum mandatory limit of $15,000. Also referred to as "no-fault" coverage, it is provided to cover the cost of medical expenses for you and your passengers in the event you are injured in an accident. It is referred to as no fault because it pays out regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
  • Uninsured Motorists

    Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage is another mandatory coverage required by the state of Oregon. It is provided to cover the costs of any injury to you and your passengers in the event that you are in an accident in which the other driver is at-fault but has no insurance or does not have sufficient coverage to cover your medical expenses. The minimum limit for this coverage is $25,000 for each person who is injured and a total limit of $50,000 for each accident.
  • Considerations

    Keep in mind that these are simply minimum legal requirements for the state. Depending on your personal assets, you may need higher limits of coverage to protect you and your family's financial well being. Consult with your insurance agent to determine the appropriate insurance for your situation.
  • © High Speed Ventures 2011