Teen Abortion Laws In The United States

Teen Abortion Laws in the United States. Teen Abortion Laws At this time in the United States abortions are legal....

Teen Abortion Laws

At this time in the United States abortions are legal. However, for teenagers under the age of 18, the laws on abortions differ from state to state. In some states, parental permission is required before a girl under age 18 can have an abortion (however, sometimes a judge can excuse you from this law in a process called "Judicial Bypass"). In some states there may be a 24 hour waiting period from the time you speak to a counselor in a clinic or doctor’s office, until the time of the procedure.

There is a lot going on now with abortion laws at the state level, as in South Dakota. Nationwide Trends and Key Issues; There is no question that women's fundamental freedoms are at a critical juncture in 2006.

Keep in mind, these laws are subject to change.

To see up-to-date news on abortion rights in your state, click

Alabama
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Alaska
The Law: Currently, you do not need parent permission to have an abortion. However, there is a law which requires girls younger than 17 to get permission from one parent to have an abortion. This law is not being enforced because of a court order. Call a clinic for more information.

Arizona
The Law: Currently, you do not need parent permission to have an abortion. However, there is a law which requires girls younger than 18 to get permission from one parent to have an abortion. This law is not being enforced because of a court order. Call a clinic for more information.

Arkansas
The Law: Requires that both of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

California
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Colorado
The Law: Currently, you do not need parent permission to have an abortion. However, there is a law which requires girls younger than 18 to get permission from one parent to have an abortion. This law is not being enforced because of a court order. Call a clinic for more information.

Connecticut
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Delaware
The Law: Requires that if you are younger than 16, one of your parents, a grandparent or a mental health professional (such as a counselor) be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 24 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

District of Columbia
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Florida
The Law: Florida's new law requires parental notification which is different than parental permission. A judicial bypass hearing is allowed for minors who need to have abortion and cannot tell their parents. Call a clinic for more information.

Georgia
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told (not give permission, just told) 24 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Hawaii
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Idaho
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes. .

Illinois
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Indiana
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Iowa
The Law: Requires that one of your parents or a grandparent be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Kansas
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Kentucky
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Louisiana
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Maine
The Law: Requires that one of your parents or an adult family member (like an over 18-year-old sister or an uncle) give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Maryland
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Massachusetts
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Michigan
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Minnesota
The Law: Requires that both of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Mississippi
The Law: Requires that both of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Missouri
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Montana
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Nebraska
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.



Nevada
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

New Hampshire
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

New Jersey
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

New Mexico
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

New York
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

North Carolina
The Law: Requires that one of your parents or a grandparent, with whom you have lived for at least six months, give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

North Dakota
The Law: Requires that both of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Ohio
The State of Ohio requires a mandatory 24 hour delay and provision of state-directed counseling prior to obtaining an abortion. This information must be obtained in person from a physician at least 24 hours prior to an abortion.
This law also requires patients to get copies of two state-mandated publications at least 24 hours in advance of the abortion procedure.

The Law: Requires that one parent/guardian has to sign a consent (or the minor can try to get a judicial bypass. For the correct information on Ohio go to: http://www.plannedparenthoodcentralohio.org

\Judicial Bypass - If a parent will not consent to an abortion, the minor must:
• convince a judge that she is mature enough to make her own decision without involving a parent
or
• that the abortion is in her best interests.
If a minor is interested in obtaining judicial bypass, Planned Parenthood will offer assistance with the court bypass procedure. The judicial bypass process is completely confidential no matter what the judge decides.

Oklahoma
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Oregon
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Pennsylvania
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Rhode Island
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

South Carolina
The Law: Requires that, if you are under 17, one of your parents or a grandparent give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

South Dakota
June 2006 - Currently abortions are banned in this state.
For more on this topic see ProChoice America Banner below.

Tennessee
The Law: Requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Texas
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Utah
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) before your abortion.

Vermont
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

Virginia
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 24 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Washington
You do not need parent permission to have an abortion

West Virginia
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 24 hours before your abortion.
Judicial Bypass - Yes. Also, a doctor (but not the one performing the abortion) can also exempt you from telling your parent.

Wisconsin
The Law: Requires that one of your parents, a grandparent, an aunt, uncle or sibling, who is at least 25 years old, give permission for your abortion
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

Wyoming
The Law: Requires that one of your parents be told of your decision (not give permission, just told) 48 hours before your abortion and give permission for the abortion
Judicial Bypass - Yes.

To find out more about abortions laws in your particular state, call your local health clinic or the nearest Planned Parenthood center at: 1-800-239-PLAN in the USA.

For up-to-date abortion laws in the Unites States see: NARAL - Click on banner below.

For information about Teen Pregnancy and pregnancy options, go there...

Visit the Pregnancy and Childbirth Library...

For information on Emergency Contraception...

What is Plan B, now that it is FDA Approved in the US?

Birth Control Section

We are not 'promoting' any of these choices, just providing information from our video and transcript library.

To "Sex Stuff ” for sexual health and other related topics.

 

Back to Top                      To Video Library

© High Speed Ventures 2011